TEA Connect Blog

30 January 2019

TEA leadership convenes in Santa Fe for 2019 strategic planning

The Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) International Board of Directors, staff and TEA Past Presidents met in Santa Fe, New Mexico (US) in January for its annual Strategic Planning Meeting (SPM).

At the annual SPM, the TEA leadership reviews the current position and status of the association and sets goals and strategies for the short-term and long-term future.

Attending the 2019 SPM were TEA International Board President Michael Mercadante, Immediate Past President David Willrich and International Board members Brian Sands, Clara Rice, Klaus Sommer Paulsen, Melissa Ruminot (TEA Eastern North America Division Board President), Matt Barton (TEA Europe & Middle East Division Board President), Shannon Martin (TEA Western North America Division Board President), Thomas Megna (TEA Asia Pacific Board President), Matt Kent, Paul Osterhout, Michael Blau, Ryan Miziker, Joanna Del Moral, Lynn Allmandinger, Dale Sprague, Anthony Pruett, Bob Chambers, Mike West, Christian Kubsch, Chris Conte and Andrew O'Rourke. They were joined by TEA Past Presidents Monty Lunde (TEA Founder), Steve Birket, Rick Rothschild, Pat Gallegos, Roberta Perry and Christine Kerr, and TEA NextGen Chair Marissa Blake. Also present were TEA COO Jennie Nevin and TEA staff Erica Schwehr Greenberg (Associate Event Producer) and Judith Rubin (TEA social media, PR and publications). Facilitating the process was consultant Cynthia Mills, an association specialist.

TEA's dedicated leaders and staff are a big part of what has kept the association growing, evolving and thriving since its founding in 1991. Heartfelt thanks to all who participated in this meeting and to all our members, volunteers, sponsors and supporters on all levels, who step up and share their time, resources, experience and expertise.

The SPM took place over two full days at the hotel, La Fonda on the Plaza, and was augmented by exploration and team building activities, including a visit to Meow Wolf (a recent Thea Award recipient) and a hike at Ghost Ranch, Abiqui. Many thanks to our gracious hosts and guides in Santa Fe. Click here to see more photos.

Posted by Judy Rubin



TEA Members please log in to comment

More TEA Connect Blog

14 February 2019.
Universal's Mark Woodbury, 2019 Thea lifetime honoree, to keynote TEA Summit April 11

Mark Woodbury, Vice Chairman of Universal Parks & Resorts and President of Universal Creative, is receiving a high industry honor in 2019: the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) Buzz Price Thea Award for a Lifetime of Distinguished Achievements. Mr. Woodbury will be a celebrated, featured presence at TEA's big industry weekend in Anaheim April 11-13. He will keynote the TEA Summit on April 11, and formally accept his Thea trophy at the 25th Annual TEA Thea Awards Gala on April 13.


14 February 2019.
Dollywood to receive TEA Thea Classic Award and be spotlighted in key session at TEA Summit, April 2019

Dollywood park is receiving a top industry honor in 2019: the Thea Classic Award, from the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA). Dollywood will be celebrated at TEA's big industry weekend in Anaheim April 11-13. At the TEA Summit (Day One, April 11) Dollywood Company executives Craig Ross (President) and Pete Owens (Vice President of Marketing and Public Relations) will be featured speakers in a session moderated by Christine Kerr . Two days later (April 13) at the 25th Annual TEA Thea Awards Gala presented by Chimelong, the Thea Classic trophy will be formally bestowed. 


08 February 2019.
Education, creativity and inspiration: Thea Case Studies Day through the eyes of co-chairs Roberta Perry and Pat MacKay

Co-chairs Roberta Perry and Pat MacKay talk about the 2019 Themed Entertainent Association (TEA) Thea Case Studies Day, aka TEA Summit Day Two, an illuminating showcase of the recipients being honored this year with TEA Thea Awards, providing essential education and networking among peers in the global visitor attractions industry. #TEAsummit #TEAtheas