2019 TEA Summit & Thea Awards Gala

08 November 2018

TEA to announce new Thea Awards recipients Nov 13, 2018 at IAAPA Orlando, 2pm

The Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) will officially announce the new slate of TEA Thea Awards recipients at a press conference on Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 2:00 pm (local time) during the IAAPA Attractions Expo in Orlando. New TEA International Board President Michael Mercadante of Main Street Design will make the announcement from the TEA booth, #1366.

Joe Rohde of Walt Disney Imagineering
holds three Thea trophies bestowed for Disney projects
at the 2018 TEA Thea Awards Gala. He is surrounded
by colleagues and team members from WDI.

A press release with a comprehensive list of projects and descriptions - detailing the full, international slate of Thea Award recipients - will be issued immediately following the announcement and posted at www.teaconnect.org. Hashtag: #TEAtheas

Members of the press are encouraged to attend along with TEA members and IAAPA delegates. TEA leadership and members of the Thea Awards Committee will be on hand, as well as award recipients. 


Photo at top: David Willrich (outgoing TEA President) making the annual TEA Thea Awards announcement in 2017; at right, TEA COO Jennie Nevin applauds

New TEA Int'l
Board President
Michael Mercadante

Media inquiries: Contact Judith Rubin, judy@teaconnect.org





Save the dates: TEA Thea Awards Gala and TEA Summit 2019

Three TEA Division Presidents welcome a full house
to the TEA Thea Awards in 2018:
Matt Barton (Europe & Middle East); Melissa Ruminot
(Eastern North America) and Tricia Rodriguez
(Western North America)

While the Thea recipients are announced in November 2018, they will be formally awarded the following year, on April 13, 2019 at the 25th annual TEA Thea Awards Gala, to be held at Disneyland in Anaheim, CA. Prior to the Gala, the annual TEA Summit will be held April 11-12, 2019 featuring Case Studies of the Thea recipients. Ticket sales will commence in December 2018 at www.teaconnect.org.

The Thea Awards recipients will include a lifetime achievement honoree (the "Buzz Price Thea Award for a Lifetime of Distinguished Achievements), a Thea Classic (honoring a project that has stood the test of time), and an award for Outstanding Technology, plus numerous Awards for Outstanding Achievement (AOA) recognizing excellence and creative and technological breakthroughs. The TEA Distinguished Service Award recipient will also be named.

Thea awarded projects cover categories such as theme parks, museums and science centers, zoos and aquariums, corporate visitor centers, retail, heritage centers, resorts, live spectaculars, connected immersion and other out-of-home guest experiences - in all parts of the world.


Chimelong Group - Thea Awards Gala Presenting Sponsor

TEA welcomes back Chimelong Group as Presenting Sponsor of the Thea Awards Gala for the fourth consecutive year. Chimelong Group has been called a game changer since entering the theme park business in 1997, bringing a unique vision to projects but also recognizing and drawing upon the expertise and experience of the global theme park community. Chimelong has set an example of international collaboration and brought something new to the international theme park world, and several Chimelong achievements have been honored with TEA Thea Awards.


AECOM - Theme Index Partner

AECOM returns in its role of supporting the Annual TEA Thea Awards Gala as Theme Index Partner, marking the company's continued collaboration with TEA on the annual TEA/AECOM Theme Index and Museum Index. The TEA/AECOM Theme Index, published mid-year, is the definitive global study of attendance at the world's top theme parks, water parks and museums. It is provided free as a resource for the industry, published online by TEA and AECOM and also distributed in print, and in a Chinese language edition. The relationship between AECOM and TEA is of long standing and the company plays an important role as a presenter and facilitator for TEA conferences and TEA panels at outside events. 


At the 2018 (24th annual) TEA Thea Awards Gala -
Mr. Su Zhigang, Chairman, Chimelong Group, presenting sponsor of the Gala,
and TEA COO Jennie Nevin raise their glasses in a toast to the occasion. . 

Additional information

Posted by Judy Rubin



TEA Members please log in to comment

More 2019 TEA Summit & Thea Awards Gala

01 March 2019.
TEA Summit 2019 Day One speakers & sessions - April 11 at Disneyland Resort

The annual TEA Summit conference organized by the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) will take place April 11-12, 2019, followed by the 25th Annual TEA Thea Awards Gala (April 13). This big weekend of TEA events takes place at Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, supported by presenting sponsors The Hettema Group (TEA Summit) and Chimelong Group (TEA Thea Awards Gala).


26 February 2019.
TEA Thea Case Studies Day celebrates top projects, people and technologies in themed entertainment April 12, 2019 at Disneyland Resort

TEA Summit Day Two - Thea Case Studies Day (April 12, 2019) is a full day of presentations showcasing the current slate of Thea Awards recipients, presented by the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA), the global association for the creators of compelling places and experiences The place: Disneyland Resort, Anaheim. Presenting Sponsor of the TEA Summit is The Hettema Group.


14 February 2019.
Universal's Mark Woodbury, 2019 Thea lifetime honoree, to keynote TEA Summit April 11

Mark Woodbury, Vice Chairman of Universal Parks & Resorts and President of Universal Creative, is receiving a high industry honor in 2019: the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) Buzz Price Thea Award for a Lifetime of Distinguished Achievements. Mr. Woodbury will be a celebrated, featured presence at TEA's big industry weekend in Anaheim April 11-13. He will keynote the TEA Summit on April 11, and formally accept his Thea trophy at the 25th Annual TEA Thea Awards Gala on April 13.