TEA Events

TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award - Call for Nominees

The TEA Past Presidents Committee is soliciting nominations from the membership for The TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award that will be presented at the 25th Annual Thea Awards Gala. 

Printable Nomination Form

Printable Nominating Process and Requirements

Submission Deadline is October 26, 2018. 



A description of the Award, the selection process, criteria, and nomination process is quite simple and we encourage your participation. 



What: The TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award recognizes outstanding contributions made to the Themed Entertainment Association, by TEA members who have supported the Association above and beyond the call of duty.


How: The TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award will be presented annually by a representative(s) from the TEA Past Presidents Committee, at the Thea Awards ceremonies, in recognition of a TEA member's outstanding contributions "above & beyond the call of duty" to the Themed Entertainment Association. Similar to the Thea Awards, nominations are open to the TEA membership, based upon published criteria.  The final selection of one annual recipient will be made by members of the TEA Past President's Advisory Committee and approved by the TEA International Board of Directors.  Recipients of the TEA Peter Chernack Distinguished Service Award will be presented with a plaque acknowledging their service.


Criteria: With the exception of those who are currently serving on the TEA International Board and Past International Presidents during the calendar year prior to Thea Awards Gala, all TEA members in good standing are eligible for consideration.  

The 2019 nominating form will be distributed to the general membership in early October 2018 and all nominations must be submitted on or before October 26, 2018.  Nominations will be accepted from any current member of the TEA.  The Past Presidents Advisory Committee will collect and review all nominations and by vote of the majority, will make its recommendation to the International Board (IB) no later than November 7, 2018.  The International Board will review the selected nomination in Executive Session and act on the nomination by November 7, 2018.  

If for any reason, the IB rejects the candidate, the Past Presidents' Committee will submit an alternate candidate within one week of the IB decision.  If that candidate is not approved, there will be no Service Award recipient for this year.  Once the IB approves the nomination, the President of the IB or their designated agent, will formally notify the candidate in a timely manner and official announcement will take place at the Theas press conference held on November 13, 2018 at IAAPA. 

Acceptance is predicated on the candidate's ability to attend the Thea Awards ceremony.


Guidelines for Award Selection:

The nominee shall: 


  1. Be a TEA member in good standing.
  2. Not currently on the IB or Division Boards.
  3. Have been active in the industry for a minimum of five years.
  4. Have made demonstrable and outstanding contributions to the mission of the Association that is "above and beyond the call of duty."
  5. Be available to accept the Award at the 2018 Thea Awards Gala,  April 13, 2019

Nominating Information to be submitted to the TEA Past Presidents Committee:

  • Name and contact information for your Nominee
  • A short statement of your reasons for making the nomination
  • Your contact information and date


Nominations should be sent via email or snail mail please note Service Award Nomination in the email subject line or on the envelope to Past President, Monty Lunde monty@technifex.com


Previous Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Joe Fox, 2018

Annika Oetken, 2018

Peter Chernack, In Memoriam, 2017

John Robinett, 2016

Pat MacKay, 2015

 Karen McGee, 2014

Judy Rubin, 2013

Gene Jeffers, 2012