Thea Awards Recipients

Thea Awards 2014

20 years celebrating excellence in themed entertainment: Introduction to the 2014 Thea Awards by TEA Past President Christine Kerr

TEA president Christine Kerr, BaAM Productions, spring 2014 -- It seems fitting that I am watching the Oscars as I write this. Many consider the Thea Awards to be the Oscars of the Themed Entertainment Industry. It is certainly that time of year when we hang up our hard hats and put our steel-toed boots in the closet in exchange for tuxedos and gowns. It is a welcome opportunity to take a break from the hard work involved in creating extraordinary experiences in order to take a few hours and celebrate this amazing industry that we are privileged to work in. And we get to spend time with old friends – perhaps better described as “friends we’ve known for a long time….”

Christine Kerr

As we celebrate 20 years of Theas, the projects being honored this year continue to demonstrate what is possible when creative people from all over the world come together with a goal of creating amazing experiences. The influence of local cultures on these projects makes them unique but also makes them appealing and endearing to international audiences. This year’s list of award recipients is a journey through the regions that TEA Divisions represent: Asia Pacific –the Philippines, Japan, Hong Kong and Singapore; Europe and the Middle East – the Netherlands, France and Northern Ireland; and North America including as far west as Hawaii. The global TEA community salutes all of the recipients from around the world.

Looking for project credits? They are published online in the 2014 Thea Awards Program.

Thea Classic Award recipient the Enchanted Tiki Room has provided generations of guests with an immersive experience that certainly took them far away from their everyday lives! As the world’s first Audio-Animatronics show, it was very high-tech in its day. It somehow seems fitting that in this same year, Garner Holt is our 2014 Buzz Price Thea Award recipient in recognition of a lifetime of distinguished achievements in the world of animatronics, animations and so much more. Garner embodies the entrepreneurial spirit and commitment to a dream that should inspire all of us. He joins an impressive group of outstanding individuals who have done so much to help shape the vibrant international industry we enjoy today. Thank you and congratulations Garner!

Please also join me in congratulating Karen McGee who is the recipient of the 2014 TEA Distinguished Service Award. Karen’s unfaltering support and commitment to the work of the Thea Awards Committee makes much of this possible. Karen embodies the work ethic and spirit of volunteerism that take her above and beyond in her support of TEA.

2014 started very well for the TEA as our search for a new leader brought us Jennie Nevin. If you have not met Jennie, please make a point of introducing yourself at the next possible opportunity. Her experience in the world of membership associations along with her energy, ideas and work ethic confirm for all of us on the International Board that the future is very bright for our association. Our three primary areas of focus over the past year - NextGen, Asia Pacific expansion and our new website – are well underway. We are shifting our focus on 2014 to building our assets – in the form of our conferences and other ways we share our knowledge and experience. And we are also very keen to collect and analyze the facts and figures that help define our industry to our members, our clients and the rest of the world.

I would like to thank Patrick Roberge and his amazing team at PRP for once again producing tonight’s show. Their support of the TEA is much appreciated. I’d like to extend the thanks of our entire association to Disney Parks and Resorts for their ongoing support of the TEA and the festivities of the Thea Awards Gala. Thanks also to all of our incredible and generous sponsors for their contributions to the success of TEA’s Weekend of Events, which includes the Gala and the 2-day TEA Summit that preceded it, along with some special NexGen activities for nurturing our industry’s promising future. And of course, none of this would be possible without the tireless work of the TEA staff.

The success of an association like the TEA relies on the contribution of the significant time, resources and ideas made by every volunteer who sits on a board or a committee or who otherwise donates their time. And behind these individuals is most often a company supporting and encouraging their efforts. Thank you to all of you. I hope the rewards are great – from a business development and networking point of view and because of the sense of accomplishment and the relationships developed through working with talented people who share a passion for our industry.

Once again, congratulations to all the Thea Awards recipients. You inspire TEA members from around the world as they create amazing, extraordinary and compelling places and experiences. Enjoy this celebration of your success with your TEA friends!

Christine Kerr


Award Credits