TEA News

30 November 2020

2020 TEA Member Meeting: Leadership transitions and Thea Awards announcement

Several hundred attended the annual Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) Member Meeting for 2020, held on a digital platform this year, on November 19.

In past years, this meeting has been conducted in person every November during the IAAPA Expo in Orlando, and we trust to revive the custom as soon as it is safely possible.

Meanwhile, the gathering took place more or less as usual on the #TEAdigital platform, with lots of opportunities for networking one-on-one and in informal groups.

Photo gallery: 2020 TEA Annual Member Meeting

To kick things off with a positive spin, members were encouraged to shared photos of themselves and their teams, sharing greetings and good wishes.

The formalities began with the TEA annual report, presented as an infographic video.

The association also marked its annual leadership transitions. Every year, TEA members elect new volunteer leaders to fill openings within the four Division Boards - Eastern and Western North America, Europe and Middle East, and Asia Pacific.

Michael Blau (left) passed the TEA International Board
presidential gavel virtually to Chuck Fawcett.

Those new leaders are officially installed at the member meeting, and speak to the group. Outgoing leaders who have completed their terms of service are thanked.

See the official announcement about the incoming and outgoing TEA Board members.

A new TEA International Board President was also elected. The gavel was officially passed, using some remote video sleight-of-hand, from outgoing International Board President Michael Blau of Adirondack Studios to incoming leader Chuck Fawcett of Animax Designs.

See interview with Chuck Fawcett.

Michael Blau, who oversaw TEA during a year of Covid, was presented with a special plaque to commemorate his service and achievements for the Association.

"What a Year!" See Michael Blau's article about TEA in 2020.

Michael Mercadante of Main Street Design was also acknowledged, and addressed the group on the occasion of his finishing up his year as Immediate Past President, an office now held by Michael Blau.

TEA leaders tend to remain active even after completing formal terms of service, and this includes the past presidents - the TEA Past Presidents Committee has been the agent of several important initiatives including the formation of TEA NextGen, establishing the TEA Peter Chernack Award for Distinguished Service, and launching the TEA Masters program.

Yael Coifman of Leisure Development Partners LLP
is the new TEA Europe and Middle East Division Board President

Jennie Nevin, who has led TEA Headquarters and TEA staff for seven years as Chief Operating Officer, was also formally thanked as she is stepping down from her position.

See article of appreciation for Jennie Nevin.

Chuck Fawcett addressed the group to talk about some of the Association's goals for 2021. TEA is working with a consultant to effect some structural changes, and has plans to conduct a search for a Chief Executive Officer.

Fawcett also formally announced the 27th annual TEA Thea Award recipients.

Read the official press release about the new Thea Awards recipients. 

Others who addressed the group in the meeting included the Chair of the new TEA Committee for Diversity and Inclusion, Nathan Jones of CAVU Designwerks.

Nathan Jones chairs the new TEA Committee 
for Diversity and Inclusion

see announcement of TEA committee for diversity and inclusion

TEA Divisions broke out into separate meetings to network and share ideas.

Best wishes to all for a happy, healthy and safe end of year, and a hopeful, productive 2021.


Posted by Judith Rubin



TEA Members please log in to comment

More TEA News

17 December 2020.
2020 TEA Masters Honored on December 9th - Looking Towards the Future

The 2020 TEA Masters were honored on December 9th, 2020.  Recognized as Masters of their Craft, having demonstrated their talents with significant bodies of work achieved over decades.  TEA Masters lead by example, inspiring and empowering others by excelling in their craft.  They are mentors to many and are generous with their time.  The 2020 Masters join those recognized since the first honorees of 2018.